Clichè Gamer
You Knew It Was Coming

New Xbox Experience: First Impression

nxe1

I was lucky enough to be included in one of the few “New Xbox Experience” public previews. I have to say I’m quite impressed. While the rest of the world will getting this new firmware update on Wednesday, I got a chance to dink around with it for a few days.

One of the first things that came to mind was WOW! This truly is a new and versatile change from the classic Xbox 360 dashboard that we know and love. It’s the small little changes and subtleties that really impress me. Yes, the avatars are cool…if that’s your thing. Many hardcore games may just skip that entire process of creating an avatar. I, myself, enjoyed going through the different customizable options. My girlfriend also got in on the fun herself. If you like games like The Sims, you’ll be kind of thirsty for more. I anxiously await the moment when I can make a t-shirt for my avatar with Sub-Zero’s face on it or a Cog from Gears of War on it, but I digress.

nxe3

It took me a little while to get used the small changes that I know and love. For example, when you go into your demos or XBLA games and you wanna play one, you have to press the (Y) button, which still takes some getting used to. One of the small little things that I am quickly growing to love is the following.

I’ve had my 360 for a little more than a year now. When you head over to the Hard Drive section, you normally have to wait a few seconds for it to calculate all the demo’s, saved games, and other crap you have on your hard drive. This is not the case with the NXE. As soon as you press the “Hard Drive”, it’s there. You don’t have to wait!!

nxe2

The transitions are smooth, fast and gorgeous. I really enjoy the Netflix steaming ability as well. This is definietly a good move on Microsoft’s part to take the competitive edge. This new NXE upgrade is definitely worth the wait.

No Responses to “New Xbox Experience: First Impression”

Leave a Reply

